Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 24, 2009, 12:17 PM   #1
Default SLR Camera Deals and Sports Shooting

I'm sorry if this seems redundant to other threads in this forum. I am in the market for a DSLR and am confused by all the models out there. My daughter plays softball and I want a camera that will get nice clear pictures and has a decent burst mode. I also want to be able to blur out the chain link fence like I see the SLR owners do. My Kodak 1012 has a burst that only shoots 3 images - not enough! I want an entry level DSLR as I have no experience with anything but p & s cameras. I have seen good deals on Canon XS Rebel with 2 lenses, Sony A200 with 2 lenses, and Pentax K2000 with 2 lenses all from Abes of Maine for not too much money. I am leaning towards the Sony but I really don't know which way to go. HELP!!
sandykor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2009, 1:13 PM   #2

The cameras you've mentioned aren't really up to the task of shooting sports.

The least expensive dSLR for that is be the Canon XSi. There are cameras that are better for sports but that cost a lot more, and there are cameras that are cheaper, but aren't as good for sports.

The Canon XSi comes with a very good, stabilized kit lens that would be good for other things, but for softball you should have something that goes out to 300mm. The Tamron 70-300 Di LD is a good, inexpensive lens for what you want to do. The Canon XSi with the kit lens is $700 at Abes of Maine, and the Tamron Di LD is $200 (but Adorama has the Tamron for $170.)

For more info, you might want to browse the Sports & Action Photos forum, and see what others are using.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2009, 2:04 PM   #3