Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 25, 2009, 12:32 AM   #1
Default Canon or Nikon for DSLR beginner ?

I would say I am an advanced P&S user who is about to enter DSLR world. I have been using S5 IS for past 3 years mostly in the full manual mode with relative ease. Been able to produce some decent images.

I am planning to take DSLR plunge now and as usual fundamental question is Nikon or Canon ?

My budget is about $1000 or so. (+/- $200)

I was thinking of the standard XSi + 18-55 IS + 55-250 IS to start with, but luckily I got my hands on a friend's exactly same combo and I got tired of switching lenses ever so often. 18-55 just isnt enough range for my daily usage.

I searched in entire Canon compatible lenses for a decent "walk-around" lens at a decent cost. But couldnt find any.

So I turned to Nikon. Nikon has this great 18-105 VR which seem to satisfy all my needs. and With the D5000 body the package was just about perfect. But..

Couple of flaws I noticed in Nikon Package (D5000 + 18-105 VR)
1. Couldnt find a decent Nikon AF-S telezoom lens. Nikon has 70-300 AF-S VR but it isnt recommended by many people. Is it really that bad?
2. even for $700 odd, D5000 body doesnt have in-build focus motor. how big problem that can be? I dont have any old lenses as such, but even the Nifty-fifty for nikon is an AF lens (not AF-S) so it wont autofocus on D5000 !!

So my requirement are as follows :
1. Nikon or Canon body (not a big fan of others)
2. A decent walk-around lens OEM or third party, both are OK. (preferable close to 18-105 range). Preferably with stabilization. (IS, VR, OS, VC etc etc)
3. A fast prime. (similar to Canon EF 50mm f/1.8)
4. A telezoom sometime in future. But would like to know that there is a decent one available, in case I need to buy for some occasion in a hurry.

Budget for first 3 items which I plan to buy right now is about $1000.
Please suggest.
abhijitaparadh is offline   Reply With Quote