Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 3, 2009, 2:25 PM   #1
Default On review overload, need some help

I'm new, confused, and desperately need some help.

My Canon point and shoot recently died and it's time to replace it. I'm a camera novice and will probably stay that way. I've got four kids and we take active, but non-sports, pictures of the kids outside and indoor pictures of family get-togethers (birtday parties, etc). I want a high optical zoom--at least 10x (my wife has complained incessantly about the poor quality of digital zoom pics). Although I can't imagine actually getting prints of our pics (I honestly can't remember the last time we did), my wife insists we might and wants to be sure the image quality will be good if we do. Most importantly, we're taking the kids to Disneyland later this month and I've got to come back with good pictures.

A self taught crash course in ISO, apperature, shutter speed, etc is going to make my head explode. I've read lots of Steve's reviews, which have been helpful, but I'm stuck between a few choices. Last thing I should mention is I'm trying to stay closer to $200 but can go up to about $300. dSLR is just not an option right now. I need a smaller size and not overcomplicated. I also prefer to stay with the SD card format over Sony memory stick or others.

I'm looking at the:
--Canon SX110is: Don't like that you have to raise the flash manually and have might be concerned about ISO if I thought I actually understood it).

--Canon SX200is: Seems a big price jump to get a flash that pops up automatically, but seems otherwise the same as the 110ix.