Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 5, 2009, 1:24 AM   #1
Default Absolute noobatron asking for camera advice

I've recently moved to S. Korea for a year, and I would like a nice camera to both document my time here and serve as a hobby. I've surfed this forum a little for ideas, trying to see what would be right for me, and I've (perhaps naively) assembled a few cameras that I think would suit me. I've never really done photography before, so I'm pretty clueless.

I am interested in taking thoughtful, artistic pictures (in addition to some simple P&S stuff), though, and I wanted to ask what you guys think is right for me. For instance, should I invest in dSLR, look for a camera with image stabilization, etc? I would greatly appreciate your expert input.

My self-administered budget is ~$250, maybe $300 if the camera is really worth it. Although it seems nearly impossible to get a good dSLR for less than $500. I have enough money for whatever, I'm just a cheapo. Anyway, here's my initial list:

Canon Powershot XS110 IS

Canon PPowershot SD780 IS

Pentax K20D

If it helps, I mostly anticipate taking pictures of city/nature stuff: buildings, people, and landscapes. I'm not really interested in close-ups or pictures of flowers and insects or anything.

Last edited by Satellite; Jul 5, 2009 at 1:26 AM.
Satellite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 5, 2009, 8:23 AM   #2

The Pentax K20D is a DSLR and is by far the best of the three cameras. But it's way more expensive than your budget allows.

Since you're a newcomer to photography, the SD780 would probably be your best bet. It's a fine camera. Small but with very good picture quality.

Here are some sample photos:
Panasonic FZ28
Canon A720is
Sanyo Eneloop Batteries
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2009, 8:54 AM   #3

Good Morning Satellite,