Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 25, 2009, 11:36 PM   #1
Default New Camera for Bicyclist

I was given the choice of a to receive a camera for a birthday present. The camera picked for me was the Canon PowerShot A470 however, I have the ability to choose any camera since I will be ordering it.

I will be using the camera for bicycle touring & maybe hiking so most all pictures will be taken outdoors of landscapes or bicycling companions. Smaller the better but I think I like to be able to pick up AA batterys on the road if need be. I have never owned a digital camera so I am a complete newbie.

Most pictures will be online but some will be printed 5x8's.

I guess like everybody, I'm looking for the best quality pictures for my $. I'm wlling to spend $150 put can be talked in to a little more if it suits my needs. I've been looking at the Powershots A series but am having real trouble deciphering the differences in each camera.

The A470, A480, A590IS & A1000IS all seem to be in that price range but the only major difference I can see is megapixals.

Any suggestions what would suit me best. I open to any suggestions.
WeTommyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2009, 9:05 AM   #2

The IS models you're looking at have stabilized lenses. That feature can help reduce blur from camera shake when shutter speeds are slower. The two IS models you're looking at also allow more focal range from wide to long compared to the A470 or A480. The A590 IS and A1000 IS have lenses that give you the same angle of view range you'd have using a 35-140mm zoom lens on a 35mm camera. The lenses on the other two models start out slightly longer on their wide end, and don't go quite as long when zoomed in all the way.