Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 31, 2009, 2:27 PM   #1
Default Brand New to Photography

Hi - I am wanting to buy a new digital camera so that I can start learning a little more about digital photography. I am thinking in the beginning I will mostly be photographing friends/family and lanscapes. I want something I can learn on but also grow with. I have been looking at the Nikon D90 since I was told that I could use it with old Nikon lenses. I was given an old Nikon 6006 (601) and it came with 2 lenses (sigma auto focus and Vivtar 52mm). They are pretty old though so I dont know if it would be better at this point to get a cheaper camera and just buy new lenses. I am buying everything with credit card points so it needs to stay under $2000. Again, I am a total beginner so any advice is APPRECIATED!
Briana is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 31, 2009, 2:47 PM   #2

Hi Briana, I'll let others more knowledgeable about Nikon comment on the lenses. Since your new to photography - you have pretty much started at the top of the iceberg, in terms of selecting a dSLR. There are probably two major areas that might help with your introduction. I would suggest going to a few camera stores or retailers that carry cameras in your area, so that you can pick up, hold and handle a number of various brands (Nikon, Canon, Sony, Pentax and Olympus, etc.). The reason is, if the camera appeals to you, fits your hand, you can see through the viewfinder, the menus and buttons make sense to you, then you will be more likely to use it - otherwise it just might sit on a shelf. Each of the major brands design their cameras a bit differently from the user's and ergonomics point of view. So, it might be wise to go see what you like and fits your hand and is comfortable for you to use.