Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 3, 2009, 2:06 PM   #1
Default Help me think about what cameras do.

Hi. I'm shopping for a camera. My research has left me feeling like an underexposed pixel with six noisy neighbors. I need additional light, clarity, and sharpness in order to compare cameras.

I am a painter. My primary use of a camera is to record visual phenomena. (I am not interested in pictures, and I am not interested in sports or family vacation shots.) I am interested in color and light. (Secondarily, I am interested in framing issues/composition, POV, horizontal and vertical panoramas, very very large format or the equivalent, and time-lapse.)

I've been looking at digital photographs for the last month or so. Here is what I've noticed (in general -- not in all photographs). Please help me put this into proper perspective vis-a-vis digital photography in general, and camera selection specifically.
  • Hues are oversaturated throughout the color range, but especially in blue, green, and red. I had a printer once that hyped "vivid" color. "Vivid", of course, comes from the root word for "life", but I find these colors anything but lifelike -- they are the visual equivalent of plastic. What should I look for in order to get the most life-like, natural, realistic saturations?
  • In flesh tones there is often a pronounced banding of hues. I am a bit of pixel-peeper. It appears this is less an issue of the contour between hue-areas (the boundary is often soft), as resulting from some kind of assumption about hue being superimposed on the object being represented. (There was a child's portrait posted on these forums which showed this clearly as one scanned the breadth of the forehead.)
  • Shadow colors are very poorly represented. (I paint shadows every day, and am very interested in the color of shadows.) They are muddy, noisy, and often (particularly in fleshtones) too highly saturated in orange.