Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 21, 2009, 3:24 PM   #1
Default Need suggetions for a camera

I am in need of a digital camera and have no idea where to start. I am a Realtor and that is what it will mostly be used for, but I also run a website where I want to be able to have high quality pictures taken. A lot of the times I need to be able to take pictures of houses from the road which may be a few hundred yards away, so I know I need a decent zoom. I have not been very into photography before but I have been using my girlfriends camera, not even sure what type it is, and I have really enjoyed taking pictures of the countryside and mountains and such. Unfortunately, my budget right now is only around $200. In a few months I plan on having more money that I would like to put into it, but I definitely need a camera now. Is there a camera that I could get now for around $200 now and be able to update stuff on it like new lens and stuff like that, or would it be better to just try to buy a cheap camera now, and then when I get more money go to a much better one? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, because like I said I don't know a whole lot about cameras at this time. Thanks.
chewdaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 22, 2009, 1:42 AM   #2

There are lots of cameras to pick from at that price. Most any of them would be Ok. The one that stands out in my view, for your use, would be the Panasonic TZ4. No longer sold new, you would need to hunt around for a used one, which should be well under $200. Here is a link to another thread discussing this camera -

Holiday camera - landscapes, landmarks and people

Kelly Cook
KCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2009, 5:09 PM   #3