Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 26, 2009, 10:24 PM   #1
Default EOS digital rebel XT vs Powershot SX20 IS or Luminex FZ35

I don't know what route to go. I will be taking a trip to Rome in April and want to get a camera that will allow me to take some great quality pictures. I found a used EOS Rebel XT with a 18-55 mm lens for $300. I know I take the risk of buying something used that may not work and I also know that this lens will not give me much zoom capabilities for the statues and art in Rome. Beacause of this I think I would need to be q better lens which would be an added cost. Would this slr, with 8 megapixels give me a better picture than a Powershot SX20 or a Luminex FZ35? If not, which point and shoot camera would be better. I am a novice to photography but I am a gadget nerd so I don't feel intimidated by the skill level of all of these cameras. I want to be able to zoom in on the objects in Rome and still have the best bang for my buck without spending more than $400. I like the option of being able to take video with the point and shoot cameras but I don't know what optionwould be best. Can these two point and shoot cameras give me comparable quality as the slr? Since I am new to photography should I steer toward the point and shoots because of their automatic controls that would adapt to different situations? I know this is a lot to ask, but I need to decide by Sat or I will miss out on the slr. Please help anyone.

Last edited by linkinyeah; Nov 26, 2009 at 10:27 PM.
linkinyeah is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2009, 11:45 PM   #2
Default I would go for the ultrazoom

I had the FZ28 and loved it. I have also had 3 DSLR's. They're great, too.