Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 1, 2009, 1:04 PM   #1

Default Canon xsi T1i 50D

I "believe' I have narrowed down my choices for my 1st digi SLR. Am hoping that I can get some help-much needed is making my decision.

First I am not an expert, not really a newbie either. Have been using a Panasonic FZ3 for the past 5 years and in the 80's used a Minolta SLR. In between basically P&S. Got out of the film slr because was tired of wasting film trying different settings and such-did manage to get some pretty nice shots. Now with digital that wouldn't bother me anymore

I enjoy taking shots while on vacation-scenery,etc., my family-2 legged and 4-legged, birds, macro, kids sports-Varsity softball and 12-15year old boys baseball. Most of the above is during the day. Night shots or bad lighting would include family birthdays, get togethers, and Junior High basketball smaller gym and can get fairly close-about 5-6 ft away from the court.

The canon cameras that I picked all have different rebates and of course different features. In camera video doesn't really interest me-although I would not necessarily dismiss it(thus the T1i in my choices). Thanks for reading this far and here are the packages:

1) The Canon XSi with EF-S 18-55 IS lens 569.95
EF-S 55-250 IS lens 269.99
INSTANT REBATE for above lens -200.00
$639.94

2)The Canon T1i with EF-S 18-55 IS lens 689.95
EF-S 55-250 IS lens 269.99
INSTANT REBATE -200.00
+ Canon Pixma PRO 9000 printer 465.98
- Mail in Rebate for above -400.00
- Probable resell value -250.00
Final Price $575.92

3) The Canon 50D with 28-135 mm IS USM lens 1,129.95
Above printer rebate and resell - 184.02
Final Price $945.93
Not sure about the 55-250IS lens with this outfit.

The 50D is a little out of my price range, but am wondering if it would be a good camera to grow into-or should I look for one further down the road.