Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 1, 2010, 3:16 PM   #1
Default Need a new camera for trip and general use

Hey y'all! So I'm a college student and this summer I'm hopefully going to Australia for a month and Fiji for a week over the summer for study abroad and I need a new camera because I hate my old Kodak one. I'm probably just going to put them on facebook and not actually print them out. I also would like a camera that is good for everyday situations that I can just upload online. So I just really want one with good image quality, portable, and has a decent battery life. The front-runners so far are the Sony H20, Canon sd780 IS, and a panasonic TZ7 I think. I'm completely open to other cameras too as I have no clue what would be best. So any suggestions and help are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Edit: Budget is up to around $300.

Last edited by ugaswimmer27; Jan 1, 2010 at 5:52 PM.
ugaswimmer27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2010, 8:35 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Those are 3 good choices.

The Sony offers the best flash, and good video, it is physically quite a bit larger than the other 2 cameras mentioned, which may make it difficult to throw in a pocket, etc. It also lacks a real wide-angle lens, so it may not work the best for landscapes and cityscapes for your trip.

the Panasonic TZ7 gives you a very large zoom range that includes a real wide-angle that also gives you a lot of zoom range as well in a quite portable package with good video. This is probably the most versatile choice in a pocket-size camera and would probably be my choice. It's sister camera the ZS1 gives you the same wide angle lens, with slightly less zoom range and similar image quality in a slightly smaller package that may be worth a look as well.