Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 30, 2010, 2:38 PM   #1
Default digital SLR "classics" resolution not too important

Hey, I'm in the market for a digital SLR, I'm an industrial design student so I will be using it mostly to photograph product prototypes and models, so mostly macro- 2-4 feet in a lightbox. I bought a new canon rebel xsi last year, which worked great until it was stolen (ARGH!). I'm not looking to spend 800 $ again, and I'm not too particular about the resolution, I think that anything above 4 megapixels would be just fine, so I think an older SLR could be a good option. I really need to be able to adjust the settings, so a point and shoot is not an option.

Can you guys name some good models from the last ten years? Are there any "classics?" Do I have to be worried about the CCD or the mechanics wearing out? If I do, is there any way to check the number of exposures in the camera interface before I buy? thanks
jnt8686 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2010, 3:35 PM   #2

In general, buying a used dSLR is a gamble. There's no way to know how much it was used or how it was handled. A used camera may come with a money back guarantee, but if it fails and you get your money back, that won't help you with the lenses and accessories you bought for it. While used gear is available from places like KEH.com, Adorama and B&H Photo Video among others, you might be better off with a refurbished dSLR instead. Adorama has multiple refurbished Nikon 10MP dSLR bodies that you could put a short macro lens on, and get away for about $700. (The lens would cost about as much as the body.) Refurbished dSLRs at least come with a warranty, so if something goes wrong (during the first 90 days), you could get it fixed, and you could still be able to use the lens you bought with it.
  • The lens is the thing.
  • 'Full Frame' is the new 'Medium Format'.