Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: Which one would you go for?
PANASONIC LUMIX DMC-FZ35 17 85.00%
Sony DSC HX1 1 5.00%
Nikon P100 1 5.00%
canon sx20 1 5.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Old May 3, 2010, 7:08 PM   #1

Default Want to buy a superzoom with best image quality

After going through various reviews on this forum and others, I came across some cameras but very confused which one should I go for.

I want a camera with best IQ and HD movies capability. I was interested in DSLR but its proving to be way expensive and bulky. But IQ is very important. I am new to serious photography but getting passionate about it day by day.

The cameras I looked upon are:

canon sx20

canon sx10

canon sx1

PANASONIC LUMIX DMC-FZ35

fujifilm hs10

Sony DSC HX1

Nikon P100

Olympus SP800

Please provide your expert opinion. Many Thanks
drsaurabhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 3, 2010, 7:17 PM   #2
Super Moderator

The Panasonic FZ35 and the Canon SX20 are the tops of your short list, both offering great image quality and HD video. The Panasonic does so at a smaller size and is probably the best choice, unless for some reason you like using AA batteries.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 10:42 AM   #3

I would sugget you to look also for the Fuji s100fs, on ebay there are still some new ones (but also refurbished can be ok). If you shoot in raw the quality is really high, and you have all the features you can find on a dsrl (except manual focus, which is of limited usability). If you want, you can take a look at the pictures I have uploaded on my website http://www.milanofotografo.it (still under construction). If you click on the thumbnails you get the middle size pictures. If you click on them you download the full resolution image.
All the pictures were shot in raw, developed with s7raw and treated with Noisware (very mild treatment).