Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 18, 2010, 3:05 PM   #1
Default What DSLR? Newbie

Hiya, well I've just got married, and have ended up with some money that I'd like to invest in a DSLR.

In the past I've had point and shoot digital cameras, and love to take pictures, however, I've mainly just left the cameras in "auto", and snapped away.

The holy grail has always been to get a DSLR, but they've just been way down the line in priorities. But with the wedding and honeymoon all paid for, I've now got some money to purchase one

So, as you'd appreciate, I'm a real newbie at this, so will need to research how to actually use one of these cameras with all of the manual settings etc... But I'd like to know what cameras and lenses that I should be looking at.

Not really wanting to go for a compact point and shoot camera with more manual control. As I know that I'll regret not having just gone for the DSLR straight away.

My budget in total is 700 - 900.

Any help / advice appreciated
Manchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2010, 3:53 PM   #2

What type of photos do you like to take, there are allot of good dslr's in your price range. It will put you in a good entry level to advance dslr that are packed with a ton of features and performance.

Canon 550D or 500D
Pentax K-x
Olympus E620
Nikon d5000
Sony A500 and A550

But to determine which one will be best suited for your needs.
Super Frequent Flyer, no joke. Ex Patriot and loving it.
Canon Eos 60D, T1i/500D, Eos1, Eos 630, Olympus EPL-1, and a part time Pentax K-X shooter.

Last edited by shoturtle; May 19, 2010 at 1:25 AM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2010, 11:56 PM   #3
Location: In mountainous California or Arizona or Guatemala or somewhere.

The cameras shoturtle mentioned are all excellent. I would argue for a Pentax Kx and its 18-55 kit lens for a start. But, let me lead you through a thought process.