Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 22, 2010, 3:16 PM   #1
Default Is a Canon Rebel right for me?

I am looking to upgrade. I'm still a novice, but I need to start getting better pics. What I am mainly looking to do with my new camera is shoot action. My boys both play football, soccer, baseball. I have no idea what kind of camera to get. I would like to be able to snap in succession and also at times from a distance say of 200 feet, but more in the 50 to 100 foot range. Anyone got any advice? Thanks
elkay65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 22, 2010, 3:26 PM   #2

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

To do what you desire you would have the camera body cost, and a specialized long zoom lens if there are any night games. What kind of photos and cameras do you normally shoot, and what kind of budget have you allowed for this new camera.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2010, 5:38 PM   #3

The AF system is the best in the entry level market. So it will do a nice job tracking you kids playing sports. But there are other thing to consider. Are these day or night games. If it is night the zoom lenses that you will need will get expensive, and may not give you the reach you may want to cover the whole field. But if it is day time, you are looking at a 550 dollar lens, compare to a min of 900 for a night time lens with a big aperture with shorter reach.
Super Frequent Flyer, no joke. Ex Patriot and loving it.
Canon Eos 60D, T1i/500D, Eos1, Eos 630, Olympus EPL-1, and a part time Pentax K-X shooter.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2010, 2:30 PM   #4

so one lense wouldn't work for both night and day? Daytime is more important at this point.
Old Jun 24, 2010, 2:33 PM   #5