Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 27, 2010, 10:02 PM   #1
Default New Camera for Inexperienced Beginner

Hi, I'm a complete newbie on this site and to the world of DSLR photography. The most experience I've had with photography is through standard point-and-shoit cameras, but I've been interested for a while now in taking the next step forward. To say the least, I'm a very inexperienced beginner.

I'm looking to purchase a DSLR camera that's easy to learn how to use for beginners, but that still retains a decent or greater photo quality. My budget lies within the price range of $400.00-800.00. I'm interested in using the camera for landscape and nature scenes, although I'm not sure which lense would be fit for such a use. For whatever camera I do purchase, I would like to expand the use for close-up nature shots and lower-light or night shots as well; in other words, I'm looking for a decent, lower-cost DSLR camera with an overall-use lense that specializes in landscape and low-light shots.

However, I do not know what brand or model would be best suited for this use. The Canon EOS 500D (AKA the EOS Rebel T1i) and the Nikon D5000 have caught my eye, although both cameras are a little high for my budget. Is the investment in either of these cameras really worth it, though? I mean, HD video is not a necessity for me; I just want a camera that produces great image quality. The Nikon D3000 and the Canon EOS 450D (AKA the EOS Rebel XSi) both look promising as well.

Does it really matter what brand you purchase? Are some brands superior to others? I've heard that Canons and Nikons are the best DSLR cameras to purchase, but what about Pentaks, Sonys, or Olympuses? Do those companies not also make quality DSLRs? Where is the best place to purchase a DSLR, at a chain retailer (like Best Buy) or an actual camera shop? Okay, well that last question sounds kind of obvious, but apparently there are pros and cons to both...