Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 3, 2010, 10:24 AM   #1
Default Buying advice - Lumix TZ10/FZ45/FZ38

Hi everyone, newbie here, just looking for some buying advice.
Firstly, Iím looking for a camera (ideally a compact) with a decent zoom range (at least 12x) that must also do HD movies. (Doesnít have to be full HD however)
The movie mode must also include a ďwind cutĒ function, this is because I live near the coast and we often get strong sea breezes so I donít want massive wind noise spoiling my outdoor recordings.
I also attend a lot of low light indoor music concerts, so the photos at low light need to be clear and the microphone must be able to handle exceptionally loud noise without distorting the sound too much.
Finally, I like the idea of being able to take some creative photos, like blurring water on a river or waterfall or lights at night.
According to my own research, (and Iím not a photography guru or anything like that) it would appear that the Panasonic Lumix super zoom range of cameras fit my requirements quite well. Iíve come to that conclusion based on reading excellent online professional reviews about these cameras and good sample images and video on YouTube.
I am torn however between the Lumix TZ10 (ZS7 in North America) and the Lumix FZ45, which is the successor to the very popular FZ38.

People have told me that the TZ10 doesnít have the features to be creative, but I notice it does have full shutter, aperture and manual modes so surely it can be a little?
I really like this model because it does everything I want Ė its compact, HD movies, wind cut, excellent zoom etc but the creative aspect of it is holding me back.