Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 23, 2010, 11:00 PM   #1
Default Canon SX210 IS vs. Nikon Coolpix S8100

I am looking for a P&S with a long telezoom (10x and up) that also takes good quality, vibrant photos. Good low-light pictures are a plus. I take photos mainly on vacation (primarily cruises), of landscapes, people, food, landmarks, interiors, etc. I have no experience with manual shooting or RAW or any of that complex stuff. I rarely print my photos, mostly share them online in my photo gallery. I've compared the following cameras' reviews and specs, but of course, the more I read, the more confused I get! I'm pretty sure one of them is right for me, but I'm not entirely sure which one it is yet. I also tried them out in the store, so I do know how they feel in hand and liked the experience of both.

Canon SX210 IS:
14MP / 80-1600 ISO / 14X zoom

This seems to be a nice camera, a compromise between the SX130 and S95 which I had also considered. Pluses include lots of features (fish eye, miniature effect) and easy optical zooming in movies. However, I have read a few reviews complaining about image quality on this particular camera, claiming it's not up to the Canon standard. Soft macro shots, slow cycle time, and a not-that-wide lens were other complaints. Does anyone have any thoughts on the image quality or the negatives? Are Canon P&S lenses good, or should I focus more on the CCD sensor?

Nikon Coolpix S8100:
12MP / 160-3200 ISO / 10X zoom

I like the specs on this camera, but it's very new and there are no reviews yet which makes me hesitate. It seems to have everything I would want on paper but I hesitate on image quality. It does have a CMOS sensor, which the Canon lacks. I did read a few reviews of its predecessor the S8000, and the majority of complaints (bad lowlight photos, no zoom during movies) seem to have been fixed, but the mixed shooting performance comments make me nervous.