Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 15, 2010, 5:31 PM   #1
Default 1st baby due the end of November

Our firstborn is due at the end of the month and I'd like to get a good camera.

Looking for a point and shoot type camera with good video functionality as well.

Currently considering the Panasonic LX5 or the Nikon Coolpix S8100, I'm open to others.

I'm not a photography expert, but would like a camera that is easy enough to use (wife), but has some more advanced options for night photography etc.

We currently have a Canon SD750 which is really nice for outdoors, but is pretty awful in low light and red eye is huge problem.

Thanks for all of your help!

I found a list of questions listed in a FAQ tha I've answered below as well.

Camera Type

Point and shoot

Is this your first camera? First ever, or first digital?

No have had a Nikon DSLR film camera and currently have a Canon SD750

Are you interested in a high level of control, or would you prefer to let the camera do as much "thinking" as possible?

If you had to choose, would you prefer a more versatile (large "") zoom lens, or top-notch image quality with no zoom at all?

More versatile

What size of camera do you want? To what degree would you be willing to sacrifice other features for compactness?

What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible.

Do you plan to spend more on additional accessories now or in the future? (Lenses, lighting, tripods, batteries, memory cards, camera bags... it adds up!)

How long do you plan on keeping this new camera?

few years

What will you generally use the camera for?

Baby pictures, inside and outside, vacations, some macro shots.

Are you going to photograph sports? What sport, and from how far away?

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos, or other low-light photos?