Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 20, 2010, 2:43 PM   #1
Default Bike riding pictures - panorama? one-handed operation?

Background - I started riding a road bike in June. I ride a lot (5,800 miles so far). I would like to take pictures of some of the beautiful scenery and homes I ride past.
  • Cycling constraints - Road bikes are very lightweight with very little storage space. I do have a small handlebar bag, so I can have dry storage (as opposed to the pockets on the back of my jersey which get sweaty).
  • My riding is entirely in daylight, so low light limitations don't matter.
  • FYI, my typical speed is 20 MPH. It would be superb if I could shoot on the go - slowing to a stop and accelerating back to speed makes stopping pretty inconvenient, especially on group rides. I don't think there's a practical solution to this problem, but maybe you have suggestions.
  • I am getting good enough to ride with no hands on the handlebars, but it is not entirely a comfortable proposition. Being able to turn on the camera and operate the shutter using only one hand would be an advantage.
  • Gloves are necessary when it's cold, so big buttons that can be operated while wearing gloves is a plus, but it's not a deal breaker.
  • Most of my pictures would be landscapes - I don't need lots of sky included in the picture.
  • The photos will probably never need to be high quality - they will be posted on a blog or emailed.
So, my questions:
  1. Panorama Mode - Does this work well? Is it exclusive to Sony? Or is a better option to take two or three pictures and stitch them together? (If so, any good freebie software that does this well?)
  2. Editing Software - I know this is lame, but I don't have any proper picture editing software (I use IrafanView). If I take pictures on the fly, the camera will probably be tilted slightly, so I'd need to rotate the pictures a few degrees before cropping. Any freebies that do this?