Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 30, 2010, 9:42 AM   #1
Default Video/price not important; KX,T1i or T2i?

I am a beginner . Years ago, I used a film Canon AE1 and more recently a point and shoot. I don't care that much about video capabilities. Also, I can spend the extra $300 if the Canon is better. I dont think too many of the subjects will be fast moving. I have read the metering on the Canon is better and thought this may help me being a beginner. Also read the Pentax clips highlights. I plan on buying the two lense kit. I guess I am asking which is better putting the price difference and the video aside. Thank you so much for comments.
RayJayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2010, 9:55 AM   #2

I dont' know much about the Kx, except I heard it is a fine camera. I use Canon, and the T2i is a very nice camera, and setup with the 18-55, and 55-250 kits lens you canget with the package, you would be set for years to come. I would not bother with the T1i, the T2i is a better choice for not much more $$
Mark2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 10:06 AM   #3

You're not shooting action so the benefit of the Canon system is not an issue. You don't care about video so the benefit of the t2i over t1i is not an issue. There are going to be minor pluses/minus' of the KX vs. T1i but they're minor. Handle both cameras and let ergonomics be the deciding factor. Truth is a lot of entry and mid level cameras from all manufacturers are on par. There are some generalities about the various systems:

Pentax has built-in anti-shake. canon is in the lens - but the kit lens comes with IS and if you're second lens is the 55-250 (and not the 75-300 which is a poor lens) then you've got IS in it too. The in-body anti-shake becomes a bonus then for more specialized shooting.
Pentax also has some great small prime lenses