Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 9, 2011, 7:25 PM   #1
Default Recommendations for a 3D artist/architectural photography?

I'm a self-employed digital artist & architectural designer, who produces 3D renderings for architects, designers & real estate developers (on the web at geometrikstudio DOT com, if you'd like to see what I do). Sometimes, the renderings I prepare require digital photo-composites, so I'm looking for a modestly priced camera that will address the "Priority List" below. The camera will be used primarily for obtaining close-up and wide-view photographs of site locations & existing structures, a process that usually involves fairly quick walkarounds of properties, rather than tripod-based architectual "glamour shots".

My budget is in the $750-1000 price range (total cost including body, lenses and accessories).

I've been researching options, both ILC's and DSLR's (Panasonic GF2 & GH2; Pentax K-r; etc.), and gravitated to the Olympus E-PL2 with the 14-42mm kit lens, or the Panasonic G2 with the Vario 14-45mm lens. I would appreciate some informed feedback and/or suggestions for other alternatives, including less expensive DSLRs.

Priority List:

- Optical lens quality (zoom preferred, rather than prime).
- Robust sensor technology (full frame would be nice, but not required).
- Live View is a must (fully functional in direct sunlight if possible).
- Color fidelity & noise reduction.
- Reasonably good HD video (with stereo audio if possble).
- Articulated LCD preferred, but not a deal-breaker.

Concerns with the E-PL2: visibility of the LCD in direct sunlight (EVF is an expensive option); somewhat limited video/audio capabilities; auto-focus not working with filters? (e.g. graduated ND filters).

Concerns with the G2: reputation for "cheap plastic" build quality; aging sensor technology; quirky behavior with the LCD touchscreen (also, the inability to turn off the touchsceen functions).