Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 19, 2011, 3:50 AM   #1
Default Simple p&s travel zoom camera

I am looking to buy a point and shoot camera with a longer zoom range (10+). I studied the reviews of the new travel zoom cameras and am completely and utterly confused. I have two very fast children, so speed is a must. Image quality is very important, as I do not want to miss an important moment by taking a blurry picture.

I am a complete amateur photographer and don't know what noisy and soft photos mean. I just want a good picture with the ability to zoom.

HELP! I'm drowning in a sea of reviews and don't know which one to believe. Thanks!
Hawnmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 19, 2011, 5:26 AM   #2

G'day HM

Oh golly - what a list of requirements ... I can remember the days with my [similar] list of 'wants' vs 'what I could afford'. Okay let's try to answer some of your Qs

As a very broad category, P&S long-zoom / ultrazoom cameras are built for convenience & price, before speed & performance > the former is aimed at 'us weekend photographers' vs the latter which is aimed at 'serious &/or professional photographers'

Image quality is very much "you get what you pay for" ie: a $400 all-in-one point & shoot camera will give you quite okay image quality [IQ], but you cannot expect that IQ to equal an interchangeable-lens camera & its lens package costing say $4000. However even tho your P&S only costs 10% of the SLR, your P&S will be a damn sight better than 10% of the SLR, more like 50% to [maybe] 70%

IQ is a combination of lens-quality and sensor size ... where the bigger the sensor, the better IQ can be obtained during printing. A P&S sensor is about 1/10 the area/size of an SLR sensor, thus the latter cameras can make bigger prints [ie: 20" x 30" wall size] much easier than the P&S, whose largest 'clear & sharp' print is about 10" x 15"