Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 17, 2012, 8:16 AM   #1
Default Help me decide which camera to buy: bridge or 2nd hand DSLR

I have been using bridge superzoom digital camera for the past 5 years. Before that I was a big fan of the Canon G series (owned a G1 and G2). My current bridge camera is a Canon SX10 IS.

I am taking mostly outdoor pictures: birding, and action outdoors (fishing scenes).

My budget is about $900.

The options I am looking at right now is the Panasonic Fz150 and the new Fuji XS1. I thought the Fuji was a winner but after reading a few reviews, it seems that the camera has a few problems especially when it is about focusing at high tele. So, it is probably not good for action shooting.

It would be nice to have a bridge camera with a large CMOS sensor to especially allow having a better picture in low light conditions (which I have quite often).

So, I am looking at the Nikon D200 which is an older DSLR, but a very solid performer. I am thinking pairing a used D200 (about $425 for a demo one, body only) with a Nikon 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR (I wished I could afford the 18-200mm one).

I am open to any suggestions.

hydrocynus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2012, 9:33 AM   #2

The Fuji and the Panasonic certainly have a decent zoom range- though I suspect the Panasonic will focus MUCH better at the long end of the zoom- as they're usually very good in this regard. Both also have fast burst modes,which is great. Though if you actually want to track a subject,as opposed to movement in just one place,then a DSLR will invariably be superior. The D200 is a fine camera(still) and the 5 frames per second shooting is pretty swift. The lens you choose to attach,of course will be significant- not least the autofocus speed of the said lens.