Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 14, 2012, 9:37 PM   #1
Default Is there any wide angle lens for Canon Powershot S5IS?

I am a real estate agent, and have a Canon powershot S5IS. I am not happy with the photos it took, either it is grey indoors or not clear. I cant take wide angle photos neither when I am inside of the property.

I am just wondering if there are any wide angle lens for it? What lens would be good for interior photos? Any suggestion would be appreciated. Thank you!
Jin_allscrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 14, 2012, 10:30 PM   #2

Hi Jin

I have taken interior photos for real estate before both semi-professionally, to display buildings that were being renovated - and to thank supporters / investors, as well of my own house - to show people.

Sadly (for you) - while the Canon S5 IS is a decent camera, it's not very appropriate for indoor photos. Mainly because it doesn't have a very wide angle lens. In 35mm equivalents, the 'wide' angle only goes 'down' to 36mm. I would suggest many interior photos would be better if you have a camera starting at 24mm. I have 2 Canon DSLRs, and use a Sigma "ultra-wide zoom" lens that goes down to 16mm.

The other thing (about grey / not clear images) might be to do with the light level. You are best served by using a tripod for many darker indoor shots. If you don't have or use a tripod, make sure you can lean against something (or put the camera on a chair / table, or bench, etc) so it's steady when you take the shot. Use IS when you are holding it.