Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 26, 2012, 3:24 PM   #1
Default I admit to wanting camera that looks cool!

I need the experts help with this otherwise I am going to end up buying a camera just because it looks cool!

I am a decorative painter so I need a camera that will capture good detail on walls, counter tops and floors. Most of the time the lighting is not ideal either. I am looking at the compact cameras with the interchangeable lenses because I would love to be able to zoom in and take some great outdoor shots as well. More on the compact side so easy to take with when I travel.

Here is the part where I will get a lot of flack! I don't want to spend more than $500. I know I get what I pay for, but that is all the budget will allow for, and that is taking into consideration I will be looking for a $500 camera on sale or buy a refurbished model.

Thank you for your help!
katers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2012, 6:14 PM   #2

Clearly you'll need a wide angle lens for interiors- ideally with a fast aperture if you want to avoid flash usage to retain natural lighting. If the fast/wide aperture lens in not possible,then you'll need good low light/high iso performance from the sensor/processor to make the best of it.
Obvious candidates are the Sony NEX range and/or the Panasonic G/GF range.
The problem you have- as you've already alluded to- is your budget.
You may have to choose one lens for now which suits indoor work,or one which suits outdoor work with a bit of zoom range. Invest in the other one in the future...?