Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 6, 2012, 12:04 PM   #1
Default Need advice on a quality compact

I've been circling the reviews for days and just when I think I've narrowed it down...
I got a Canon SX40 for Christmas and liked it but it was too bulky. I returned it and began the search for a compact that would fit in a coat pocket. The obvious choice looked like the s100 but it's too small as I like the heftier feel and stability of something a little bigger. I gravitated then toward the G12 but the specs now seem antiquated esp. when compared to the s100. I shoot a lot of macro, would like extra zoom, want really good lense and color and low light pix. Won't use the gps, won't use the raw and I'm a newbie. (the GX1 seemed a bit overwhelming.) I will consider other brands, Nikon or Panasonic esp. if they fit my requirements better. help!!
miedrichluo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 6, 2012, 5:54 PM   #2

If you plan to stay compact "ish" and want a reasonable zoom,low light use will be compromised- as there's plenty of glass and they use small sensors.
The G12's a good camera- but certainly not as "quick" a shooter as the S100 and certainly inferior in video mode. Maybe consider Nikon's P7100...?
The GX1 is also a fine camera- but useless if you plan to shoot macro as the closest focusing distance is 40cm...!!
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2012, 11:43 PM   #3

My brother has the Nikon P7100... regardless of what the specs are, this is a very pleasant camera to use everyday. 28-200mm zoom range, too, which is more than you'll get with most other cameras in this class. I'd buy one myself except that I have a Fuji X10 - another camera I'd recommend. But the X10 will still run you more than $500 even with recent discounts. Which should tell you something.