Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 26, 2012, 6:41 PM   #1
Default Upgrade/replacement from Canon A570is

I'm looking to replace (and upgrade) from my Canon A570is. I loved my A570is, but it was recently broken when dropped while open. I looked into repair cost, but was quoted $100-150, so it makes more sense to buy a new camera.

I'm looking for:
  • More optical zoom - I've felt limited by 4x for almost the entire time I owned the A570is - I often take wildlife and landscape shots and would like to be able to get in much closer.
  • Higher megapixels - I do print photos up to 16x20" now and would like to be able to print in a larger format if I had a camera that could handle that.
  • I've always had a Canon (A570, A75, AE-1), but I'm somewhat open to another maker if I can't get what I'm looking for with Canon
  • I am a novice, but I like having manual control. I've taken a couple of photography classes (hence the AE-1) and while I often do use a pre-set option or auto, I like being able to change these settings and more fully control the image.
  • I use the macro feature regularly with nature photos, but it's not an absolute priority.
  • I've liked having AA batteries, but this seems less common and isn't a deal breaker. Though if I were to end up with a Li battery, I'd probably want to be able to get a backup at a reasonable price. I have taken 300-500 photos in a day when traveling.
  • I don't care about video, it's nice to have, but something I rarely use.
  • Size isn't a huge concern for me - I'd like to be able to put the camera in my purse, but I've never had a camera small enough for a pocket. I'd prioritize great photos over size of camera.
  • I'm looking in the $250-$400 price range, but might be able to go a tiny bit higher if there's a "perfect" model - my ideal cost would be $350 or less.