Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 29, 2012, 1:41 PM   #1

Default Switch from Canon to Nikon...maybe?

Hey all,

I'm a college student. I bought a Canon XSi a few years ago and it's been pretty good to me, but my mom lately has been talking about wanting a dslr, and I figure that it might be an okay time to upgrade/change cameras, and give her my old one. I have two lenses for the Canon, the 18-55mm kit lens and a 70-200something zoom, which I haven't used much. They came in a bundle when I purchased it.

When I took my film photo class this semester I appropriated our N90s and the lenses we had (one 28mm fixed, and one 28-70mm), and I've really enjoyed using that camera.

I know that most people say Nikon/Canon are basically six of one, half dozen of the other, but does anyone have any advice? I'm probably down in a sub-600 range, and I've thought about a D90, which is about as old as my Canon but I've read that it's considered a better camera.

Last edited by Emoo; Oct 29, 2012 at 1:48 PM.
Emoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 29, 2012, 1:50 PM   #2

What do you want to shoot?
  • If you're going to use a filter, make it a good one.
TCav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 3:05 PM   #3

I'm not really sure. I'm going abroad in January, so I'll be doing the tourist thing, but I've used my camera for stop motion work for school and I guess what counts as macro/still life kind of photos. I don't do a lot of high-speed action type shots.

I'm also interested in being able to record video to use in small compositing projects.
Old Oct 29, 2012, 5:11 PM   #4