Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:56 PM   #1

Default Bought Olympus XZ-1...need something else!

Hi there - newbie here - we needed to replace/upgrade our 6 yr old Canon P&S so I bought the Olympus XZ-1 (b/c it was $199) and was somewhat happy with the performance - but not completely satisfied. Basically I'm returning the XZ-1 for something with a bigger zoom. We mainly need a camera to take GOOD pics of our 2 children (soon to be 3). I don't really have much time to "learn" a new camera - and was hoping for some suggestions. Here are a few things we're hoping for:
- budget $400-ish
- decent zoom
- clear - good pics
- camera with no/minimal perceivable shutter lag (gotta keep up with the kids)
-lens with a large aperture (anything at and below F2.8)
As I said earlier - we mainly take pics of the kids - so pics will be both indoor and outdoor.
I've been looking at a WIDE range.....please help me choose or at least narrow it down!!!
Canon 500 IS -
Canon SX40HS -
Canon SX260
Canon 160
Panasonic LUMIX DMC-G3 -
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200-
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7
Panasonic's FZ-200
Nikon 1 J1
Sony DSC-H50
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX30V
Sony HX20V -
Sony a57
TeamO is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2012, 5:31 PM   #2

Maybe look at Canon's G15...? The 5x f/1.8-2.8 lens should help for indoor/low light use and give you plenty of speed to play with outdoors for speedy youngsters- and it's almost pocketable..
The FZ-200 gives you a competent "auto everything" mode, a fast f/2.8 25-600mm lens and swift autofocus/burst modes- great for active subjects.
Something small and with great IQ and a f/1.8 lens..? Sony's RX100.
If a DSLR takes your fancy- you could do worse than the A57...
SIMON40 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 5:45 PM   #3