Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 9, 2012, 2:45 PM   #1
Default Canon Rebel T4i, T3i, or T2i for Filming?

Hello. I want to get a camera that I can film with. I am interested in creating my own short films. I am somewhat new to serious photography and filming.

I have been using a Nikon Coolpix L110 for a while now but not for filming. When I tried to film with it, I found that it limited me a lot. It lacks aperture priority mode and other features.

I have limited my options down to the Canon Rebel T4i, T3i, and T2i but I am not sure which one I should get. I have read reviews for all of them and most of them say filming with them are good but I still don't know which one I should get.

And for lenses, I still somewhat unsure about lenses. What is the difference between a 18-55mm and 18-135mm lens? I have read articles about lenses but I am still confused. It would be appreciated if someone could briefly explain lenses to me.

Feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.
Tornate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2012, 3:34 PM   #2

Of the Canons you mentioned, the T4i is the best for videos.

As for lenses, the focal length of a lens is a measure of how much a lens will bend light. Lenses with shorter focal lengths can bend light more, and thus have a wider angle of view. Similiarly, lenses with longer focal lengths don't bend light very much, and so have a very narrow angle of view and greatly magnify distant subjects. The lenses you mentioned are zoom lenses, which means they have a variable focal length. The 18-55mm lens has a diagonal angle of view that varies from 74 20' to 27 50', while the 18-135mm lens has an angle of view of from 74 20' to 11 30'. For reference's sake, a lens with a 30mm focal length has an angle of view that closely approximates what you would see without the camera.