Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 24, 2013, 4:49 PM   #1

Default Panasonic FZ200 Canon Powershot SX50, HELP?

Looking for advice. Can't decide between these two bridge cameras, constant f2.8 versus 50X lens?!?!!?

Looking for something that is quite intuitive and easy to use, as I am a complete novice

Grateful for your advice, or any other recommendations!
Gordie1888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2013, 5:30 PM   #2

Both camera's have a basic "Auto" mode so you can shoot straight away,regardless of your limited expertise. You can grow into either in time,as you learn the photographic ropes.
As for which is suitable... much depends on what you plan to shoot.
If you're into birding or shy wildlife,the Canon's huge zoom has to be a plus point- but Panasonic's fast lens and focus speeds lend itself to moving subjects well- especially if the light is less than ideal.
Another to consider might be Fujifilm's new HS50EXR- with a whopping 24-1000mm MANUAL zoom, which cannot be beat for composing shots quickly and with super fast focus speeds also. No reviews around yet, but looks impressive on paper.
SIMON40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 1:51 AM   #3

Default Thanks Simon.

I'll have a look at the HS50EXR and whether it's available yet here in the UK. You're advice is helpful and at the moment I'm edging towards the Canon. It reviews very well .........and that zoom!
Old Jan 25, 2013, 9:36 AM   #4