Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 13, 2013, 8:49 AM   #1

Default DMC-G5KK or FZ200?

I am a beginner and wanted to purchase either FZ200 or G5KK (H-FS45150K Lumix G Series Lens 45-150 ). My requirements are that I need a camera that can take good indoor and pictures in low light conditions, and secondly I need to take shots at a distance. I am confused which among these would be the better option? Thank you.
winsome19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2013, 2:02 PM   #2

With the G5, you would normally have the 14-42 to start. Add the 45-150 as a longer telephoto to get @ 3x to 10x compared to a P&S zoom. It's real strength is it's size. It's very small and compact. That makes it convenient to have along with a 20mm f/1.7 or similar for use indoors in low light.

The 45-150 wouldn't be a good indoor low light lens or a particularly great lens for distant subjects outdoors. It's more of a walkaround or travel lens because of it's physical size and weight. As part of a "system" the lens would be fine, but with a micro 4/3, you'll still want a fast prime for low light, especially if the subject is moving.

Micro 4/3's don't have "macro" and normally won't focus closer than 3 feet with a long telephoto lens. They don't change from macro and wide angle to 24x automatically like an FZ.

If you don't intend to build a "system", you might be better off with the FZ200 to start.

BBbuilder467 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 3:33 PM   #3

G'day WS

I would agree with BB here - the FZ200 with its constant-value f2,8 lens is probably the best compromise for your indoor work, and along with its well-known Leica zoom lens, it will be more than acceptably sharp for most of its zoom range