Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 22, 2013, 9:46 PM   #1
Default Nikon D3200 or Nikon D5100

Hey guys, please help me! I am a complete beginner in photography, I know some basics, but not a lot. I know I am wanting a DSLR because I have my phone to use for my point & shoot, as well as a Samsung Dualview if I want something better to print. Anyways, I have been looking around at many different cameras, and I have narrowed it down to two. The Nikon D3200 and the Nikon D5100 (as you can tell from the title). From what I have read and understand, the 3200 is great for beginners and the 5100 is geared toward novices. The 3200 would probably be the sensible system for me because of some of the features it has for beginners, but one of the big things that I like of the 5100 is that it has the swivel LCD screen. I know I should not base my decision on just the swivel screen, and I am not, but that is a big reason I am considering it.

A couple other things, I do not plan on cropping a lot of picture or blowing up pictures too big. I know I want to do some action shots', especially sports, wildlife, and just some fun jumping pictures (yeah I'm lame, I know). I am also into wildlife photography (plants, animals, insects, underwater, etc). As well as making some short videos on it (possibly slow motion). I don't know if that helps any. I know it is gonna take some time to get everything I want to get the right system.

Also, the prices on amazon are about the same, and will come with 18-55 mm lens (possibly 55-200 mm lens, depending on if I want to get that package).

Sorry for rambling on guys, but I feel like if I give as much info on what my plans are, it may help you guys help me

Thanks in advanced for any suggestions!!!
jregencia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 23, 2013, 3:21 AM   #2