Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 24, 2013, 9:30 AM   #1
Default Camera with quick shutter speed?

Hi -- I'm a total amateur with no real camera skills -- I just want to take pictures of my family and not miss the shots due to digital camera shutter lag. I don't know how to manually focus, but I'm sure I could learn. Size isn't really an issue -- small would be handy, but I lug around all sorts of stuff anyway (mom with kids) -- so I wouldn't mind a clunky camera. We're planning a trip to Italy soon -- and I know my husband wants to get me an iPad -- but I'd rather have a good camera. (I'm trying to think of a price window -- I'd love it to be less than $500 -- way less if possible!) I can probably work around battery issues by bringing extras... I'm not that concerned with megapixels -- I'd like the option of enlarging a good shot, but mainly want a clear shot.

Am I better off getting a used camera with a good tuneup? I'd appreciate any and all advice! Thanks! Monica
mcaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2013, 9:27 PM   #2

i had no shutter lag with the panasonic fz150, and it's a great camera although the size of a small dslr. i also have little to no shutter lag with my canon sx260 hs, and the panasonic fz20 wasn't great in low light, but it was a fast, snappy camera with lots of extra features, a very compact body and a nice long zoom. of the 3, the fz150 is the most versatile, imo. the catch is that it's a generation old, so is going up in price rather than down. right now, the current generation - the fz200 - is under $500 on amazon, and that's even better in lower light due to its constant f/2.8 lens!

i'd avoid used cameras - sometimes expensive things go wrong.
pcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 11:52 AM   #3
Default Thanks!

Thank you very much for the information. Monica
mcaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 7:09 PM   #4