Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 28, 2013, 3:15 PM   #1
Default Help Please with camera purchase!!!

Hi! I need a little help and I am a newbie here!

I am in no way a photographer. I am looking at purchasing a digital camera. I have three grandchildren under the age of 4 that I like to take photos of and I am going to Disney World in September and need to purchase a camera that has a decent zoom, moving subjects and decent inside and night photos. I do not want to pay more than $250.00 if possible but would consider a little more if the camera is worth it. I have tried searching on sites to try to get an idea but the more I look and read the more confused I get.

I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction onto which camera would be the best for me.

Thank you all!
Katmat75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 28, 2013, 5:08 PM   #2

In effect- you're looking for a camera with a useful zoom range,with fast AF/snappy performance and one that performs well in low light- in essence,the ultimate all rounder...

Sadly,that camera has yet to be made

Your budget suggests a camera with a fixed lens- and if a decent zoom range is required,then a small sensor is also necessary- hindering low light use.
Such lenses don't have a fast/wide apertures- again hindering low light use- never mind slowing down the AF system.

Much depends of course on what you consider "decent" photo's.... but compromises will have to be made- and I'd suggest that be in the zoom range.... as that tends to compromise many of the things you require- like AF speed,optical quality and low light use...

The only "middle ground" camera I can think of that is moderately affordable is Nikon's P7700.
A fairly fast f/2-4 lens with useful 28-200mm zoom range. adequate AF speed and a large (for a compact) 1/1.7" sensor... but a bit over your budget...!