Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 13, 2014, 2:12 AM   #1
Default Zoom and FPS. Bought a t2i. Debating a fuji hs25exr.

Wait let me explain first.......

I'm new to the dslr's but have always wanted a fast camera and zoom lens. I've gotten quite good at making a canon g9 get some pics I want in action (half shutter focus and split sec snap before entering the frame). It still drives me crazy and lots of photo opportunities are lost. My son does motocross if that helps you with speed I'm looking for.
I got a good deal on a Canon t2i w/lens for $200 and a 75-300lens for $100. It shoots 3.7fps. BUT I have yet to use it.
Until I can budget the 7d or 70d it will have to do......or will it?

I can pick up a fuji hs25exr for ~$150 that has a 700mm zoom and 11fps. I do understand full zoom 700mm is going to be blurry w/o a tripod at least but it's got me debating the dslr thing and whether to pick this deal up. The pictures users have posted of the fuji with that long zoom and detail at full zoom in the pics is pretty wowable.

I've researched a lot and still can't get a clear understanding of:
1. At 3.7fps vs 11fps, why do I want to be using the t2i? Granted I want a great shot but I hear that's a lot of fill on a card and I can see hrs of debating frames 6 & 7.
2. Will 3.7fps be more than I'm expecting or would I be smart picking up the fuji? Saw where someone on here says he shoots more at the 3.7 than at 5.3+
3. My unconfirmed research still has me believing the DSLR is better than the bridge camera.
4. Am I wasting money on the fuji when I can get more out of the t2i? The fuji adds things like panorama (which I do use on my g9 and iphone-but I'm familiar with post stitching software). Also adds 3d and a few other marketable features so it's confused my mind. I've been looking fwd to using a dslr for a long time and this fuji thing is throwing me off. What should I want to know?

Thanks in advance.