Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 26, 2004, 6:37 PM   #1

I'm by no means a pro... most of the pictures that we take are with our Olympus Stylus 80 35mm camera, generally of family events: our baby 'milestones,' older daughter's sporting events, family vacations, birthdays. For these purposes, the Stylus 80 has been a good tool because it's compact (fits in a diaper bag or purse), and can shoot action shots during a soccer game, and the quality of image is pretty good... from our point of view. The big downside of the Stylus line, for us, is that they last about 2yrs before some component breaks, and you have to buy a new camera. Not too painful at $150-200 a pop. Case in point is that our Stylus 80 is malfunctioning, and of course it'll cost more to fix thana new one.

We also shoot with an Olympus D510 digital camera. While this camera is great for the hubby's website, and cataloging moments in the family's history (just like the Stylus... we have been carrying both cameras around for the past couple of years), it's impossible to capture action events, such as the daughter's soccer goal, or that ballet jump... it's dog-slow... and from reading, I guess that's called 'Lag,' or the time it takes from when you push the 'shutter' to when the image is actually captured. I swear it's an entire second before you capture the image after you fire off the camera! That, and the 3x zoom (effectively something like a 100ish-mm lens?) is pitiful for trying to take a picture of something more than a few feet away. Being able to print out on the Canon i960 is one of the best features of having the digital camera, and the prints that it makes are perfect in 4x6 size for photo albums.