Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 26, 2004, 5:38 AM   #1

Hi I'm newbie here, and would like help from all the pros here.

Ok let's get to the problem.

I own a 1 year old Sony P10 and i'm very happy with the pictures and video quality,As i'm not a pro, i just use the auto settings, and the p10 did the job perfectly in my honest opinion. The only complaints i have is that the camera is quite big for my liking ,and also the LCD screen is too small

my Fiancee own a Kyocera Finecam S5 , and she really dissapointed with it , the pictures quality is good, but the lag from the time u turn on the camera and start taking pictures is just horrible, a lot of times she miss the object such as pets and moving oblects. So i told her to sell her Kyocera and give her my beloved Sony P10 instead.

Now the problem is that i want to buy aother camera for myself , things that important to me is that i want my camera to be as small as possible and also having at least same or better image than my P10 could give.After deciding for a while, my picks is the Casio Z40.Nice design, fabulous battery life.But after a while i started to notice a bad things about it. Though it has a big 2" LCD but the resolution on the LCD it self is very bad , not as good as the P10 which only has 1,5"LCD!I told my self thats it's not a big problem. BUt when i took it with me during a vacation to a beach side, then i realise that i made a wrong choice, the Picture quality is really really bad!! Wheter it;s indoor or outdoor shots, the piceture seems to have alot of noise , and also the pixelation is very noticeable! (I always use auto mode as i dont know how to set the manual controls) Compared to my P10 .I always use 3MP on my P10 , so i expect same or even better picture on my Z40 using it;s full 4MP resolution.