Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 12, 2004, 4:26 PM   #1

Hello all,

I have been shooting with a Nikon 8008s for 10 years and have really enjoyed the camera and its pictures. I am now trying to move to the digital age. My objectives for purchasing a digital camera would be:

1. Be able to take these images to a photo development place and create high quality (as good as regular film) 4x6, 8x10, and 11x14 size prints. I have no plans for printing at home but want to make sure I can output very good prints.

2. I am not a big electronic guru so I want to make sure I can easily take these images from the camera to CD or other device to get printed. Also, I need my wife who is even less computer literate than I.

3. I want to make sure this technology I purchase will last quite a few years. I rather pay more and be happy for a long time than have to keep replacing the camera every few years. I would like long lasting quality.

I have several Nikon lenses so I havebeen looking at the D70 and other Nikon cameras but this is not an end all. I have looked at the Kodak professional line but they seem (in my humble opinion) not too mainstream so I am not sure about how much support I would get.

Any information or expereince would be very much appreciated.

Pete Robbins

Peterob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2004, 9:20 PM   #2

From what I have seen & heard, the Kodak cameras don't produce the quality of images that their costs would justify. Since you are looking at Nikon, I would look at the DH2 for a Pro camera & the D70. (The D70 is actually preferred by many former D100 users, newer, faster, etc).

You could also look at the Fuji S2 (or the soon to be newer S3). The Fujis are pro quality & built using Nikon frames and lens mounts. The S2 has a good reputation among Fashion Magazine Photographers for it's excellent color rendition & image quality.
Old Oct 12, 2004, 10:41 PM   #3