Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 22, 2004, 2:39 PM   #1

Hi there,

I am looking to upgrade from my Canon Powershot A40. I am an avid amateur digital photographer looking for a 'real camera', which I can use for vacation photos (I am going to the Amazon and Europe next year), snapshots, and macro portraits. I am an avid aquarist and take a lot of aquarium fish photos, so I am looking for something with a strong, effective macro function and a very light sensitive lense (flash and lighting an aquarium are not easy).Last Christmas I was looking at the Sony DSC f717 but it was too expensive at the time. I have been watching it all year and it has dropped in price by almost half. USA PhotoNation (any experience buying from them?) has the F828 for only $1 more. What are your opinions on these two cameras? What are some other cameras you think I should look at? I am leaning towards the Sony's but I know people who swear by Nikon, Canon and Olympus.

Give me your ideas!

OwenBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2004, 6:50 PM   #2

I'd not buy from them.

They look to be a fraud.

As to comparable Canon, Nikon and Olympus...

Canon G series (G6)

Olympus C-5060

Coolpix 8700

The sonys long lens size betrays it's 5x function so the other cameras do not have the same length lens but similar weight.

rp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2004, 5:20 PM   #3

Hi Owen

I have the Sony F717. I have just purchased a Canon G6 which I received a couple of days ago.

The Sony F717 scores well ahead of the G6 in build quality. The Sony is very solid and heavier, it feels strong enough to stand up to a lot of use. The compact flash card door on the G6 is very flimsy, which is a nightmare as I take the cards in and out a lot to plug them in to the computer, or digital wallet.