Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 27, 2004, 11:04 AM   #1

Hi All!
So after several months of market monitoring, I really want to get my first digital camera...
Has to be compact, have optical viewfinder, optical zoom, decent movie mode, decent battery life, fast(est) shutter lag... and have about 4/5 million pixels
I am a novice to the digital world and to photography in general (have always used compact point-and-shoot film cameras).. so my eye will not catch all the imperfections you lot will spot..
Reviews I read for months on this and other sites have helped me getting an idea of what's on the market..
I've been considering Sony models for some months, but now that the Canon SD300 (Ixus 40 here in Europe) has come out, I kind of feel that this is the model I should get..
Now how would you compare it to the Sony models?
Is buying the Canon the right choice?
Or you (strongly) think I should go with the Sony models or others...
Too bad it has a proprietary battery, but I will get two extra batteries, just in case..
(Sony W-1/12 is quite bigger...)
Also it has one megapixel less than the the Sonys, is it that bad? Will I be able to print decent 20x30cm pictures (photo lab)?
I read in a review on another site that apparently there is an evident softeness in the corners... is it that bad?
SD300 owners, what can you say abot this?
Movie mode, ok, better than any other Canon, but when will manufacturers start including MPEG4 formats?? I kind of feel sony *might* start doing this next year...
Also does the Sony MPEG MOVIE VX format offer more compression than the AVI M-JPEG present in the Canon SD300?
Another point in favour of the Canon would be that SD media is cheaper than Memory Stick media.. as I'm planning to get a 512MB card..
Are there other models you would choose instead of the Canon?
Pentax's and Casio's new models also seem to be nice but for some reason I'm not too convinced about those...