Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 27, 2004, 2:32 PM   #1

Hi, I have been looking into buying a point and shoot camera for some time now, but have not been able to decide. This will be my first digital camera, and most likely the only one for some time to come.

I am a complete novice, and my priority is a fast point and shoot camera for everyday moments. I dont really know if size is important as this is my first one, but of course I dont think any of the ones I have been looking at are too big. I was hoping for AA battery compatibility, but could sacrifice that if necessary. After reading alot, I know I only need 3 mp, but if a cam with better features has more at the same cost then I see no harm in that.

The cameras I have been looking at might be varied across several catagories, but it seems that size is what splits the groups, which again, I dont know will make a difference.

In no order whatsoever, the Canon a95, Sony w1, Canon SD300/200 (whichever doesnt matter).

I know the SD300/200 is in a different class, but I dont really know how much difference that would be than the sony W1 which seems like it is just 'deeper' or whatever measurment it is larger in. Does this extra thickness make a difference? More the question is the a95 not pocketable at all?

In terms of speed, which I have come to the conclusion of being quite important, it seems to be SD300/200, W1 and a95 last. Question being is the a95 much slower in day to day pics? Again I am asking for personal opinions with day to day shots in mind.

In terms of pic quality which of course is important, it seems as if it is a95,w1, sd300/200, but again in day to day viewing 'not under microscope' will it make a difference???

The only extra feature I am looking at the moment is movie mode, which would leave sd300/200, w1 and then a95.