Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 1, 2004, 9:40 PM   #1

Hi all-

Ok, I have a simple Canon PowerShot A20 right now, and looking to upgrade to something better. I need a camera that can give me good close up shots of my daughter, but also great everyday pics.

After reading through the forums, looks like the Panasonic is a winner, but I can't tell which one. The Z20 and Z3 are mentioned the most.

Can you tell me what the big differences are between these. Remember I am a NOT a pro, just a mom trying to take good pics of her daughter...so simple explanations would be great.:?

Thanks for any feedback you might be able to offer.

dandice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 1, 2004, 10:03 PM   #2

FZ20 - a very large camera that adds manual focus and a few more megapixels.

FZ3 - a much smaller camera that only lacks manual focus and a hotshoe.

Given your needs and probable level of photographic proficiency, I would imagine that the FZ3 is all the camera you need. The nice thing is that you won't go wrong w/either one, but I couldn't see spending the extra $ for a camera that's as big as your head (ok, maybe your daughter's head), and won't give you any better image quality. Unless you've just got to have the extra megapixels, I vote FZ3.

p.s. a hotshoe is for an accessory flash, which you wouldn't want to get unless you really get into photography.....

PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2004, 1:49 AM   #3

I personally prefer 5Mp because I like larger pictures to put on the wall. If you are pretty sure you will never make a print larger than 8 X 10 you would be happy with 3Mp.