Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 6, 2004, 3:12 AM   #1

I am probably going to get flamed by Rebel owners for this post. But just in case it might help anyone out there on the fence trying to decide between these two cameras I thought I would share my experience. I am a computer engineer by trade and upgrading from a Sony DSC-F717. That was a great camera, about as good as prosumer models get, but I was ready to step up to a DSLR. The Rebel's price was very attractive.

I read all the reviews on different web sites, looked at the photos and concluded the Rebel's pictures were a little better than the D70s. When Canon announced the Rebel was available in a black body that tipped the balance. I looked everywhere for a black Rebel. Ultimately only Ritz had them. Ironically at full price of $999. So I went ahead and ordered one off their web site (no sales tax).