Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 9, 2004, 7:29 PM   #1

Hi there:

I'm new to the forum, so Hi everybody.

I'm on vacation in the USA, and i'm interested on purchasing a new digital camera for personal use to retire my old Kodak CX4300 :s

I've been looking around the internet and i found these three options (they were four.. but then i saw the Casio EX Z50 sample images :shock: )

Sony Cybershot DSC W1

Sony Cybershot DSC V1

Nikon coolpix 5200

As you may have noticed, they are all 5MP cameras, and about 350$

I know many people have asked this question before, but, in your opinion, which one should i choose? I mean, all them have great specs and quality. 4x optical, nightshot and a nice MPEG specs in V1; W1 is a newer model, Coolpix has a terrific macro mode.

I need your opinions, what's the best camera for me? I'm not a newb, but i'm not a pro either, i would want a versatile digi to make good close shots, "joy moments" photos and get into the nature photography.

would you recommend me another camera with similar specifications?

Thank u in advance, and nice comunity by the way.

PS: Soz for my bad english :sad:
Masamun3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2004, 7:07 PM   #2

Ok, i've been searching information about the cameras above, and i found a lot of complaints about DSC W1, so i have decided NOT buying it.

Now, looking for a substitute i reached to Canon, A95, so now i'm even more confused:

Canon Powershot A95
Sony DSC V1
or Nikon Coolpix 5200

Which one do you think i should buy?

Old Dec 11, 2004, 7:59 PM   #3

I notice Steve has both the A95 and 5200 on his best camera list, but not the V1.