Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 28, 2004, 7:53 AM   #1

:?Could somebody please comment on this problem or refer me to someone else ?:

After reading lots of reviews on the pros and cons ofprosumer-class cameras and DSLR-classI am still not sure which type of digital camerais more recommendable for the special intent of shooting photos of fairly small animals:

I am an amateur herpetologist (those people loving to watch and study reptiles and amphibians in warm countries and invest time and money to crouch down and crawl on the ground with them to take a closer look) who never was interested in taking photographs until a friend lent me his simple (but high quality) Sony consumer-class digital cam which could take close-upphotos from less than 3cm.
The resulting photos of the animal life (reptiles, amphibians, insects,spiders)in Central America were so much better than expected despite the inherent restrictions of pocket-sized camerasthat I decided to join the already enthusiastic community of digital photographers andto aspire for higher quality nature- and particularly macro-photography.

I`d like to take shots of herps i.E. snakes, frogs, salamanders etc., some ofwhich allow being approached within a meter (~3 feet) or even 10 to 50 cm (~0,3 to 1,5 feet). Most, however, are shy and only allow shooting distances between 5 m and
30 meters (~15 and 90 feet). Of course, capturing some of them allows pictures from very close distances like a few cm / inches. Most Reptiles and amphibians are rather small sized i.e.the smallest to shoot rangemeasure about3 cm.

Therefore the (almost) "ideal" camera would enable me to get fairly sharppictures with good resolution to make bigger prints (in German size: up to DIN A3, which means about twicethe size of a legal letter size.), even under the outdoor condition, that I'm shooting from may be a non disturbing distance of up to 90 feet.