Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 30, 2004, 10:02 AM   #1

I'm attempting to navigate through the morasse of digital camera options, and feeling dead stupid like. I am a digital artist (using scanners as my primary way of inputting paintings into photoshop).I was wondering what the minimum technical specifications are for the following. Photographing paintings so that I can output the digitally modified painting at 300 dpi to a large format digital printer, (i.e. A4/A3/A2).Taking digital photographs so I can blow 'em up to at least A4 and output them on a home inkjet.

Am I right in thinking that 6 megapixels is the minimum megapixels I should be looking at? (obviously quality of lens, etc have a huge impact, but can I get away with getting a lower resolution camera with a better lense)

thanks in advance (also I appologise for the somewhat muddleheaded post xmas typing/sentance construction)

olivergili is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2004, 11:50 AM   #2

Unfortunately the question requires a complex answer.

The PPI you get from a scan is different from what you get from a digital camera. This is a good read: http://scantips.com/resolut.html He used a photo taken with a fixed focal length Nikon on a tripod and processed with a Fuji Frontier – considered very good. He could not get scanned detail beyond scanning at 300 PPI.