Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 10, 2005, 7:03 PM   #1

First of all hello to all !

I am about to purchase my first digital camera through a friend who's in Japan.

I've read enough reviews about all kind of digital cameras but still I feel like I need some direct help since I cannot seem to decide which camera should fit me best.

I can tell you that I have never used one before, I want to make pics both outdoors and indoors (parties. mountain trips, stadium etc.)

After reading so many reviews in the last couple of days I was thinking as main options: Canon A80, A95, Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-W1, Panasonic FZ3 or Canon S1 IS, Olympus C-770 Ultra Zoom, Fuji FinePix S5100.

Please note that I do not intend to become a pro, so I guess you will have to advise me what to get. Also I can't say wether i preffer pocket cameras or those with improved ZOOM. I only want to make some nice photos and not regret the quality of them.

I am not keen to print the pics in large size. OK, some of them I might choose to print them as a wallpaper (1024) but these will not be by far the majority. I will also use them on my PC andonline.

Naturally I'll be happy to own a camera that should do great at night, and that zooms well.

I am asking you findly but also desperately to give me some advices about which sort of camera should fullfill my needs best. Please do recommend me some of the best choices you think of as I am in a big hurry.

Thanks a lot for helping me fellows !

P.S. Please note that I am willing to spend $400 at most and I'd like to get some extra accessories (memory cards, batteries, etc) within this amount.

Rooy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2005, 8:22 PM   #2

Those are all very good cameras. You have to decide for yourself whether you want a long zoom or a pocketable camera.