Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 14, 2005, 8:27 PM   #1

I'm trying to decide what camera to buy . I would welcome any idea's . These are my needs. I will be carrying it in a back/daypackor fanny pack.The packwill getbounced around alothiking and riding on 4 wheelers, snowmoble's , even horse back. Temps can range from below zero to mid 90's .It needs to be fairly compact . It needs to take at leasta good quality8 X 10 ,bigger would be better . I don't do many pics that size butone of the goals for this camerais to get good enlargements .Movies are not that important except to sayI would like it to havesound.I have no experience with digital camera's but I am prepared to learn how to best use the camera I buy . I would like this camera to fill my need for years , meaning I don't want to buy another one next year.Price $ 500 or less , I'd go a little more if there was a certian camera that would really fit my needs in all areas.I had pretty much decided on the CanonA95 but after seeing it, it is about as big physicaly as I would like to go .I was also concerned about the body . My understanding isit is asteel reinforced plastic body . I would still buy it if itwill serve me best.I also considered and am stilllooking atthe Canon S70.After alot of researching I feel eitherthe Canon IXUS S500 or the Sony Cyber ShotDSC-V1may be best for me . Yes No ????Any suggestion of a specific camera I may be overlooking that would better fill my needs would be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all. KHH
KHH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2005, 11:53 AM   #2

KHH wrote:
After alot of researching I feel eitherthe Canon IXUS S500 or the Sony Cyber ShotDSC-V1may be best for me .